The Commonwealth

The Realm

Incredibly, and a fact not always commonly appreciated, just one person, Queen Elizabeth II,  is the Head of State of 16 Nations and Head of the Commonwealth of 54 nations. Queen Elizabeth II is the constitutional monarch of 16 sovereign states, known as the Commonwealth realms, and their territories and dependencies.

The sixteen Commonwealth Realms are spread out across the globe and include the following countries. Antigua and Barbuda; Australia; the Bahamas; Barbados; Belize; Canada; Grenada; Jamaica; New Zealand; Papua New Guinea; St Christopher and Nevis; St Vincent and the Grenadines; the Solomon Islands, Tuvalu and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. As of 2010, these have a combined area of 18.7 million km² and a population of 134 million.

Although each country is a completely separate Monarchy - for example the Kingdom of Canada - not only do they share Queen Elizabeth II but also her Royal Family who carry out royal duties in every one of these nations.

The association is a voluntary organisation of the 54 independent international sovereign states through which countries with diverse social, political, and economic backgrounds co-operate within a framework of common values and goals. These include the promotion of democracy, human rights, the rule of law, good world governance, free trade, world peace and are carried out through multilateral projects and meetings, as well as the Commonwealth games which take place every four years. The symbol of this free association is Queen Elizabeth II who, as the head of the Commonwealth, attends the Games, Heads of Government meetings and carries out many duties throughout the member states.

The Commonwealth Games in Glasgow 2014, were a big success.
© Copyright 2018 Monarchy OnlineWeb Design by Toolkit Websites